University of Worcester
University of Worcester

The University of Worcester is a public study university, based in Worcester, England. It is the only university based in the counties of Worcestershire as well as Herefordshire.

The university was founded in 1946 when an Emergency Teacher Educating College for the University of Birmingham was established in Worcester on the site of one of the former RAF bases utilised throughout the Second World War.

Henry Hines arrived in Worcester from the Canterbury Technical Institute as the principal of the college, followed by E.G. Peirson from 1951 to 1978.

David Shadbolt then took over in 1978 bringing a system based around 3 schools: Education and Mentor Studies, Arts and Sciences.

David Shadbolt was then followed by Dorma Urwin in 1992.

In 2003, David Green was designated as Dorma Urwin’s successor and later on ended up being the Vice Chancellor of the organisation.

In 2005 the institute was relabelled “University of Worcester”.

In 2010 the HM Privy Council gave Research Degree Awarding Powers on the University. In the very same year, the University opened the City campus.

In 2012, the University opened The Hive, a facility concentrated on discovering resources, innovation, social and study areas. This was officially opened by Her Majesty The Queen.

Up Next